The 24th Annual Trap Fun Run proved another fantastic success with 200 participants and many spectators involved. Rugby legend, Shane Williams, came along to start both the Open 4.7mile, and Junior 2.8mile race for the third year in succession, to the delight of the crowds.

Proceeds of this year's event, sponsored by Gelli Plant, SJ Griffiths and Son and Brecon Water, will be shared equally between Brainstrust, the Meg Jones brain cancer charity and Trap Agriculture Show.

Carmarthen Harrier Dewi Griffiths took the honours in the Open Race, crossing the line in 24mins 30secs while the female title went to Jade Williams of Amman Valley Harriers with a winning time of 29m 48s.

The Junior race saw emphatic victories in both the Boys and Girls races as 14-year-old Christian Lovatt, of Ammanford, took his fourth successive title in style, finishing a full three minutes clear of second in a time of 16m 48s. There was also a shining performance from winning girl, Amber Howell, of Betws, who crossed the line in a time of 19m 23s, less than three minutes behind Lovatt but a full four minutes ahead of the next girl.

Race presidents and sponsors Arwyn Williams and Simon Griffiths along with co-sponsor Jeff Phillips, representing Brecon Water were very pleased with the dayÕs success. Simon even took up the challenge of the open race along with his wife and family. ArwynÕs wife also took part.

The Brecon Carreg Shield for outstanding contribution to the 2010 Trap Fun Run was awarded to 91-year-old Nancy Davies, of Greenfield in Llandeilo.

Nancy has been a stalwart supporter of the Fun Run over the years, raising a substantial amount of money for the nominated charities by collecting sponsor money for family members taking part and selling both raffle and lucky numbers.

Sadly, Nancy was very disappointed to miss this year's race due to a bout of ill health, but race organisers wish her a full and speedy recovery.

Organisers also wished to offer a huge vote of thanks to all those who took part in the event.

Next year's race - due to be held on Sunday, May 2, will mark the 25th anniversary of the race.