Wales Women have named four players connected to Ammanford, the Amman Valley, Pontarddulais and Towy Valley in the team to face Ireland.

Brynaman-born Hannah Jones, a former pupil of Ysgol Dyffryn Aman, will be captaining the side.

She joins teammates Pontarddulais-born Keira Bevan, Carys Phillips and Alisha Butchers, who have ties to Llandovery College and Penybanc RFC respectively – in the starting lineup.

The squad sees four changes from the side that faced England in Bristol.

Jones will be partnering with Kerin Lake in the Wales midfield.

The team's returning wing, Jasmine Joyce, complements an exciting back three alongside Jenny Hesketh and Carys Cox.

Bevan is back as scrum-half, after scoring a try against England, and teams up with fly-half Lleucu George.

Upcoming talent Gwennan Hopkins, who is yet to make her Wales debut, has secured a spot on the bench.

Hopkins could be the fourth player to debut in the W6N tournament.

Head coach, Ioan Cunningham - another ex-Ysgol Dyffryn Aman pupil -, spoke highly of his team: "We have put the fallow week to good use and had a thorough debrief of where we are after the first two games in this Six Nations campaign.

"“The focus has been on putting the hard work in and looking at the good things we have done and what we need to tighten up on against Ireland in Cork."

Highlighting each player’s contributions to the squad, the coach commended Butchers and Bevan: "Alisha made a real difference when she came off the bench against England and deserves the opportunity to start, while Keira reminded everyone what she can do and the competition with Sian Jones for the scrum-half shirt is benefiting the team."

Wales Womens team to face Ireland Women at Virgin media Park, Cork, on Saturday, April 13. Kick off 4.45pm: Jenny Hesketh, Jasmine Joyce, Hannah Jones (captain), Kerin Lake, Carys Cox, Lleucu George, Keira Bevan; Gwenllian Pyrs, Carys Phillips, Sisilia Tuipulotu, Abbie Fleming, Georgia Evans, Alisha Butchers, Alex Callender (Vice-captain), Bethan Lewis.

Replacements: Molly Reardon, Abbey Constable, Donna Rose, Natalia John, Gwennan Hopkins, Sian Jones, Kayleigh Powell, Courtney Keight.