AMMANFORD's Hannah Jones has narrowly missed out on a place in the Team GB rugby sevens side for this year's Tokyo Olympics.

A former pupil at Ysgol Dyffryn Amman, she captained Wales in their final Six Nations match of the the 2021 campaign against Scotland.

She was one of two Wales rugby internationals hoping to be part of the Team GB squad at their training camp at Loughborough University.

Jasmine Joyce earned her place in the squad for her second Olympics appearance, but Jones has narrowly missed out on the final selection.

“Selection was very tough, we’ve had 22 players involved in the programme since we started in March," said Women’s head coach Scott Forrest.

"They have all created a very competitive environment, and every one of those players has been so important to the development of the squad.

"It’s not just about the successful 13 players who have been selected today, if we are successful in Tokyo, it’s going to be down to the whole squad.

"The whole 22 have played their part, not just those who are going out to perform at the Olympic Games, and I’ve seen massive improvements.

"We’re now excited to see what we can do in 41 days’ time from now – for the 13 selected, you look at the squad on paper it’s very exciting.

"This squad for me has the potential to go and win a gold medal, we’ve definitely got the potential, and that for me as a coach is really exciting.”

Jasmine Joyce, who also represented Team GB in the Rio Olympics, paid tribute to fellow Wales international and GB training squad member Jones.

“Hannah is my best friend, so it was great to train together in GB camp," she said.

"She has put so much hard work into everything she has done in recent years too, as have all the players in the training squad.

"The fact she’s missed out shows the level of competition throughout the squad is insane."

The Team GB women's squad has been named as follows: Holly Aitchison; Abbie Brown; Abi Burton; Deborah Fleming; Natasha Hunt; Megan Jones; Jasmine Joyce; Alex Matthews; Celia Quansah; Helena Rowland; Hannah Smith; Emma Uren.