An Amman Valley rugby player is set to continue leading the Wales Women's team after being named as captain for the forthcoming 2024 Guinness Women's Six Nations tournament.

Brynaman born Hannah Jones, brings a wealth of experience from campaigns including last season’s where Wales achieved a globally impressive sixth ranking.

The squad, announced by head coach Ioan Cunningham, brims with tested talent alongside some newer names.

Others returning to the field include Pontarddulais-born Keira Bevan, former Llandovery College pupil Carys Phillips and Alisha Butchers, who played for Penybanc RFC in Ammanford, also selected is Niamh Terry, who previously played for Hendy RFC U18s.

Former Ysgol Dyffryn Aman pupil Cunningham said: "This was the hardest squad to select since the game went professional in 2022 and there was plenty of debate within the coaching group around selection."

The 37-strong squad consists of veteran players and seven debutants who have impressed Cunningham with their club performances this season.

Cunningham is looking forward to the 2024 Six Nations campaign, heralding it as "the biggest and toughest tournament so far".

Cunningham added: "We have named a squad full of proven experience at international rugby and a mix of exciting young talent we have seen emerge at club and Wales U20s level, especially through the new expanded Celtic Challenge tournament."

The team is set to kick off their campaign at Cardiff Arms Park against Scotland on Saturday, March 23.

Wales Women's squad for Six Nations: Forwards: Gwenllian Pyrs, Abbey Constable, Carys Phillips, Kelsey Jones, Molly Reardon, Sisilia Tuipulotu, Donna Rose, Jenni Scoble, Abbie Fleming, Natalia John, Gwen Crabb, Bryonie King, Shona Wakley, Alisha Butchers, Georgia Evans, Alex Callender, Kate Williams, Bethan Lewis, Gwennan Hopkins

Backs: Jasmine Joyce, Nel Metcalfe, Jenny Hesketh, Courtney Keight, Kayleigh Powell, Cath Richards, Lisa Neumann, Amelia Tutt, Hannah Jones (captain), Kerin Lake, Hannah Bluck, Carys Cox, Lleucu George, Mollie Wilkinson, Niamh Terry, Keira Bevan, Sian Jones, Meg Davies.