S4C has announced that postgraduate student Megan Davies has won the channel’s T Glynne Davies Scholarship for 2018-19.

Megan, 23, originally from Pontarddulais, is currently a student following the MA Broadcast Journalism course at Cardiff University’s School of Journalism, Media and Culture.

As well as receiving comprehensive training from the internationally renowned School of Journalism, Megan will be given direct work experience with ITV Wales’ current affairs team working on S4C’s short-form online service Hansh.

Megan, who received a scholarship worth over £6,000, said: “I'm really fortunate and very grateful to receive this generous scholarship.

"Since I was a child, journalism has been my goal in life.

"So, being given the opportunity to follow this MA course at Cardiff University, with S4C’s financial support, was very important to me and I have learnt so much already.

“Wales needs a strong and progressive media more than ever. I look forward to acquiring new skills and growing professionally and hope to be part of our country's media in the future.”

After gaining an honours degree in French and English at the University of Exeter, Megan, with her parents’ financial support, worked voluntarily as a journalist for several magazines and news outlets to gain experience.

Catrin Hughes Roberts, S4C's Director of Partnerships, said, "We are pleased to be able to award the T Glynne Davies Scholarship to Megan.

"Her enthusiasm, creativity and journalistic nous impressed us, and our hope is that she will be able to use the skills that she has acquired on this Masters course to work in the field of journalism in the Welsh language and in Wales for many years to come."

The scholarship was established as a lasting tribute to the poet, novelist, journalist and broadcaster T Glynne Davies, who died in 1988.

Over the years, a number of Wales’ most prominent Welsh-speaking journalists and broadcasters have received the scholarship and followed the course.

Among them are Sian O’Callaghan, Head of Change at BBC Wales; BBC broadcast journalists Ben Price, Steffan Powell, Rhiannon Wilkins, Rhys Williams and Gwenllïan Glyn and at ITV Wales, Bethan Muxworthy.

Last year’s winner Carwyn Eckley is now working as a member of BBC Wales’ news team.

Megan will have the opportunity to work in the BBC Wales newsroom during her MA course.

Tony O’Shaughnessy, Course Director, MA Broadcast Journalism of Cardiff University's School of Journalism, Media and Culture, said: "We’re thrilled for Megan - she joins a group of people who’ve gone on to have amazing careers in broadcast news and current affairs thanks to the support of S4C and the T Glynne Davies Scholarship."