Llandovery RFC celebrated the best season in its 135-year history on Saturday with a presentation evening at the Church Bank clubhouse, writes Huw S Thomas.

Outgoing chairman and MC for the evening Handel Davies introduced a host of players and club members who had made the season so special and memorable for the Towy Valley club.

Reminding one and all of the outstanding achievement of winning the Fosters National Sevens and Swalec Cup as well as finishing second to Pontypridd in the Premiership table, Davies heaped praise on the team, coach and backroom staff.

Guest of honour for the evening, former Llandovery and current Scarlets prop Pete Edwards - “once a Drovers, always a Drover “ - distributed the trophies.

Two players in particular were rewarded for their contribution to the on field success and well being of the club – Richard Brooks and Jack Maynard.

Brooks – the club’s hard, rugged and tough No 8 - was the club’s leading try scorer, crossing 16 times for a points tally of 96 and played more games than anyone else in the squad.

He got the John Halliday Award for Player of the Year as well as the Jeff Jones Trophy for top try scorer.

Carmarthen boy, fly half Jack Maynard who ended top points scorer in the Premiership on 154 points got the Rusty Jones Trophy as 1st XV players Player of the Year as well as the Dai Williams Award for Supporters Player of the Year.

Flanker Stuart Worrall who joined the club from Narberth a year ago was recipient of the Rhodri Hughes Trophy as Most Improved Player of the Year whilst long serving centre Matthew Jacobs got the Tony Davies Award as the players Clubman of the Year.

Retiring Team Manager Andrew Thomas, Wales U20 hooker Dafydd Hughes and Wales U16 full back Harri Doel had recognition as Club Ambassadors for promoting and enhancing the profile the club wherever they went.

Aubrey Waters was awarded the DT Davies Clubman of the Year Cup for his unstinting work behind the scenes and the Des Clarke Award for Outstanding Service went to Head Physiotherapist David Graham-Woollard who has looked after the aches and pains of many a Drover over a period of 18 years.

All the winners had standing ovations for their efforts over the season but no one deserved more praise than Handel Davies who has steered the Llandovery ship through both calm and choppy waters for the last 10 years and who now steps down as Chairman.

His astute, committed and passionate contribution to the Drovers cause has been unparallelled in the long history of the club.

And with outgoing president Phil Davies, he has been responsible for the many initiatives and innovations that have been a major factor in this Golden Age of Llandovery rugby.

Presentation list

1st XV Player of the Year: Richard Brooks

Supporters Player of the Year: Jack Maynard

1st XV Players Player of the Year: Jack Maynard

Top try Award: Richard Brooks

Most improved Player of the Year: Stuart Worrall

Players Clubman of the Year: Matthew Jacobs

Club Ambassador Awards: Andrew Thomas, Dafydd Hughes, Harri Doel

Clubman of the Year: Aubrey Waters

Outstanding Service Award: David Graham-Woollard

Youth Players of the Year: Iwan Davies and Rhodri Williams