An Amman Valley nurse has celebrated after being recognised for a nursing award.

Kathy Senchal from Glanaman has been named runner-up in the 2019 RCN Wales Primary Care Nurse of the Year awards.

Practice nurse Kathy was nominated by Hywel Dda University Health Board along with Swansea University for her work running a minor illness clinic at Brynteg Surgery, Ammanford.

Kathy was recognised for her work in developing the daily minor illness clinics in the practice with support from her General Practitioner.

By working closely with the GP, pharmacist and nurse practioner, Kathy is able to provide a service where patients can be directed to the most appropriate person to deal with needs.

Kathy also works in collaboration with local physiotherapists, mental health practitioner and health care support worker, giving patients a wide range of expertise to help deal with their health issues. In the future, it is planned to move joint services, including the minor illness team, into one building allowing patients to access appropriate care more easily.

Kathy is also a key member of a collaborative group with Swansea University and the primary care nursing team who are working together to produce a minor illness competency assessment in order to fill a current gap.

Kathy said: “I was delighted to be nominated and proud to be named runner-up. Being a finalist means I now get the opportunity to work with the RCN to help with future developments.”

Congratulating Kathy on her achievement, Jo Bishop practice manager at Brynteg surgery said: “Our huge congratulations go to Kathy on this amazing achievement. All of the GP Partners and wider Practice team are incredibly proud of Kathy and the outstanding work that she does. Kathy has been a part of the Brynteg and Glanamman Practices for many years and knows many of our patients. The work that she undertakes is exemplary and we are very lucky to have her as part of our great team.”

Last month Kathy attended a prestigious black-tie event at Cardiff City hall, which was hosted by Jason Mohammed and Andrea Byrne where she received her award.