Johnnie McClelland scoops Athletic's Players' Player award

3:45pm Monday 2nd June 2014

Ynysmeudwy Athletic held their annual awards presentation at the weekend with Huw Beynon scooping the Player of the Year award.

The Players’ Player award went to John McClelland. McClelland also picked up the trophy for the club’s top scorer.

The Young Player of the Year accolade went to Callum Rees while Steve Evans was presented with the Clubman of the Year award for his dedication, commitment and loyalty to the club over the years.

Player of the year James Fox and Tom Jones were jointly honoured with the Second Team Player of the Year award. Fox also scooped the top scorer trophy.

Dylan Jones was named Players’ Player of the Year while the award for the Young Player of the Year went to Connor David.

The club would like to thank Cegin Fach in Ystalyfera for the wonderful buffet provided and their kind support throughout the season.

The club would like to thank everyone who supported the teams over the last season and give a special mention to first team manager Kevin Williams for his hard work and dedication.

Second team manager Andrew Thomas also deserves special praise for winning the Reserve Division One Cup and claiming runners-up spot in league – ensuring promotion.

Praise also goes to the groundsman and to Lorna Williams for her hard work as well as all the committee members and chairman Huw Davies and to everyone who has helped out and supported the club.

Ynysmeudwy will host a fun-day on June 21 from noon. All welcome.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

South Wales Guardian: site_logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory