Bryn Rovers AFC held their annual presentation evening at the club headquarters in the Derlwyn Arms, Brynaman, at the weekend.

The first team had a tough season in a competitive division, finishing fifth behind Ystradgynlais, Giants Grave, Ynysygerwn and newcomers Briton Ferry.

There was also a heartbreaking loss at home to Ystradgynlais in the Open Cup semi-final, where - after Bryn had held their opponents 1-1 going in to extra-time - they eventually lost to a goal in the final moments of the game.

Against the team that had won the treble for the previous three seasons, Bryn had been unbeaten over 90 minutes in two encounters at Cae Criced.

The second team had a transitional season having lost Mark James, Chris Marland, Luc Rees, Chris Edwards, Nick Lacey, Sior Williams, Josh Jones, Dan MacMahon, Richard Lloyd, Del Patel and Adam Campbell from last season’s undefeated treble-winning side.

A fourth-place in the league was their lowest finish in some time and there was further disappointment in the shape of a 1-0 Reserve Open Cup final loss to Briton Ferry at Briton Ferry.

A staggering 58 players had been used throughout the season, highlighting the difficulty faced by the defending champions with no fewer than eight goalkeepers appearing between the sticks during the campaign.

A special mention however must go to Aeron Williams, Kieran Griffiths, Josh Jones, Shaun Phillips, Osian Evans, Nathan Morgan and Daniel Griffiths, who stepped up two divisions to help out the second team.

The third team were able to secure promotion to Reserve Division Two courtesy of a third-place finish.

Bryn ended the campaign six points behind Onllwyn and Cwm Wanderers and were serious contenders throughout the season.

Several exciting prospects are sure to progress from the third team and will be looking to cement a place in the second team for the upcoming campaign.

Bryn Rovers would like to thank all sponsors that supported the club throughout the season along with the volunteers and members whose work behind the scenes often goes unnoticed as well as all the players who contributed throughout the season.

Several new sponsors are soon to be announced, including Emerson's Cheesecakes who made a donation to the junior presentation day.

The club are indebted to Nigel and Maria Jones from the Derlwyn Arms for their continued support throughout the season both before and after games.

The club’s annual general meeting is scheduled to be held at the Derlwyn Arms on Saturday, June 21.

Pre-season training is set to start on Tuesday, July 2, from 6.15pm at Maes Elwyn, Upper Brynaman. Old and new players are always welcome.


First Team Manager’s Player of the Year: Mark Griffiths

First Team Players’ Player of the Year: Mark Griffths

First Team Top Goalscorer: Mark James

Second Team Manager’s Player of the Year: Carwyn Sheldon

Second Team Players Players’ of the Year: Carwyn Sheldon

Second Team Top Goalscorer: Julian Jones

Third Team Manager’s Player of the Year: Aled Jones

Third Team Players’ Player of the Year: Kieran Griffiths

Third Team Top Goalscorer: Andrew Jones

Young Player of the Year: Nick Lacey

Most Promising Player: Adam Campbell

Clubman of the Year: Martin Evans