Llandybie upset leaders Bont

POT LUCK: All the latest from the Llanelli and District snooker league.

POT LUCK: All the latest from the Llanelli and District snooker league.

First published in Sport

Llanelli Snooker league leaders Pont Cons A – ten points clear of the chasing pack - had their colours lowered by Llandybie RFC in a 4-3 victory for the rugby club courtesy of frame-wins from Dylan Jones, Dar Sigsworth and Sion Isaac struck. Anthony Lewis, Paul Doughton and Johnny Wilcox won for Bont.

Elsewhere, Paul Garritty was bottom-side Penygroes RFC’s only frame-winner in a 6-1 loss to Pontarddulais Workmens. Steve Dunn, Steve Davies, Jonathan Ball, Duane Griffiths and Adam Griffiths all won for the latter.

Jamie Gimblett, Mark Martin and Nigel Harries edged a 4-3 win for Cross Hands B at Snooker World A, with Richard Jones, Mike Woods and Shane Wright replying.

Matchroom A suffered a 6-1 defeat at Llanesco B while Legion Whites endured a 7-0 drubbing at Matchroom B.

In Division Two, Steve Lewis, Rhys Fisher and the Davies brothers -Paul and Nick, won as Garnant Club defeated Burry Port Reading Room Reds 5-2.

Electric B suffered something of a shock 7-0 defeat at Reading Room Blues while Nigel Jones was CGMD’s solitary frame-winner in a 6-1 loss to Llanelli Cons A. In a basement battle, Gorseinon leapfrogged off the bottom over New Lodge B after beating them 5-2.

Meanwhile, Alun Harris, Wyn Davies and Emyr Bowen edged Pontyberem Workmens to a 4-3 aggregate win at Carway A.

In Division Three, with leaders Llandybie Social B not in action Carway B jump to the top by a point after a 6-1 victory at Cross Hands A. Only Hywel Pritchard averted the whitewash.

Third-placed Calsonic Rivals beat Pont Cons C 5-2, while Chris Abbott, John Williams, Chris Salisbury, Kevin Evans and James Bradley earned Upper Tumble Reds a 6-1 win at Cross Hands C.

Similarly, Ponthenri won 6-1 at Great Mountain following wins from Craig Howells (33 & 32), Alan James (28), Jeff Howells, Kevin Lewis and Gerry Keaney. Endaf Jones was the Tumble side’s sole winner.

C Jones and Dean Bromham were Tycroes RFC B’s winning duo in a 5-2 loss a Pont Cons B. For the home side, Hugh Williams, Dai Porter, Adrian Thomas and Gary Thomas won.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree