AN ICONIC footbridge over the River Towy has been given a new lease of life.
It marks its 103rd birthday thanks to a refurbishment project overseen by members of the town and county council.
Llandeilo’s King Bridge was in need of the major makeover after vandals caused more than £40,000 worth of damage to the historic structure.
Saturday morning saw representatives of Llandeilo Fawr town council, led by mayor Dawn Wallace and Dyffryn Cennen community council, led by chairman Dai Saunders, gather to mark the official opening.
The bridge has traditionally linked both communities.
Llandeilo’s county councillor Edward Thomas oversaw the proceedings.
Cllr Thomas welcomed Mrs Tanya James, the widow of Eirian James, the officer responsible for getting the grants and supervising the project.
Mr James tragically past away earlier this year. The restored bridge was his last project.
Mrs James and her two sons were presented with a commemorative town plate to honour the efforts of her late husband, in restoring the bridge to its former glories.
The bridge had suffered repeated vandalism in recent years, particularly throughout the summer of 2010, when considerable damage was caused by individuals breaking through the sides of the bridge and jumping into the river.
Last year, thanks to the great efforts of Mr James, it was confirmed more than £60,000 of restoration work would be carried out to repair the damaged bridge.
The bridge, which was originally built over the River Towy near the town’s railway station in 1911, was constructed to commemorate the coronation of King George V, Queen Elizabeth II’s grandfather.
This year the Kings Bridge is celebrating its 103rd anniversary and continues to provide a physical link joining the two communities of Llandeilo and Dyffryn Cennen.
The bridge is also extremely popular with walkers, ramblers and tourists, keen to explore the Towy Valley’s rich history.